Hall of Fame

Crew Athletes and Coaches in the Viking Hall of Fame

Since it’s inception in 1968, 3 Men’s Crew coaches or athletes have been inducted in the Viking Sports Hall of Fame.

Diehl gets shirt from University of Washington coach Dick Erickson

Bob Diehl: Men’s rowing coach at Western from 1970 to 1976.
Bob is a UW Husky Alumni, rowing under Coach Fil Leanderson from 1958-1960. Diehl was the coach when Western made its first appearance at the prestigious Opening Day Regatta. He directed varsity eights which won LaFromboise Cup (northwest small college) titles in 1972, 1973, 1974 and 1975. Also, in 1973, Diehl�s varsity four placed fourth at the IRA national championships. Two of his rowers, Chuck Rutherford and Darrell Vruegdenhil, went on to compete in the Olympic Games.

Hall of Fame website

Darrell Vreugdenhil

Darrell Vreugdenhil: Mens crew – 1971-1972
Rowed in varsity-8 shell that won northwest small-college championships in 1971 and 1972. Won gold medal in 1975 at Pan American Games in pair with cox. Participated in 1976 Olympic Games. Took part in five World Championships. Rowed in 14 National Championship shells.

Hall of Fame website

Fil Leanderson

Fil Leanderson: Men’s rowing coach at Western from 1977 to 1993.
Coached 31 years, 26 as head coach, 17 at Western. His Viking crew program recognized as one of West Coast’s best and tops among northwest small colleges. Western administrator for 23 years. UW Athletic Hall of Fame member.

Hall of Fame website